Governors and Section Representatives of the Indiana Section of the M.A.A.

Until 2017, responsibility for the governance of the MAA lied in the hands of the Board of Governors, which included the officers of the MAA, ex-Presidents of the MAA for terms of six years after their presidential terms, members of the Finance committee, and elected Governors of each of the 29 sections of the MAA. From 1939 through 1947 the Board included Governors-at-Large and Regional Governors elected from each of 14 designated geographical regions. Beginning in 1947, the Regional Governors were gradually replaced by Section Governors. The first Governor of the Indiana Section was elected at the May 8, 1948, Meeting of the Indiana Section and took office on July 1, 1948.

In 2017 the bylaws of the MAA were changed to create a new representative Congress to serve as the conduit for communication between the Board of Directors, the Sections, and other constituencies. The Congress consists of Section Representatives, the Council Chairs, the Board of Directors, and Members-at-Large with the number and constituencies as determined by the Congress.

Section Governors

Section Governors		
1948-1951	P. D. Edwards	Ball State Teachers College
1951-1954	J. C. Polley	Wabash College
1954-1955	R. Hull	Purdue University
1955-1957	P. D. Edwards	Ball State Teachers College
1957-1960	L. Cesari	Purdue University
1960-1963	M. E. Shanks	Purdue University
1963-1966	J. E. Yarnelle	Hanover College
1966-1969	G. N. Wollan	Purdue University
1969-1972	B. E. Rhoades	Indiana University
1972-1975	P. T. Mielke	Wabash College
1975-1978	M. J. Mansfield	Indiana Univ-Purdue Univ. at Fort Wayne
1978-1981	G. J. Sherman	Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
1981-1984	M. Jerison	Purdue University
1984-1987	R. Hood	Franklin College
1987-1990	D. Maki	Indiana University
1990-1993	L. Beineke	Indiana Univ-Purdue Univ at Fort Wayne
1993-1996	C. Murphy	Purdue University-Calumet
1996-1999	C. Cowen	Purdue University
1999-2002	S. Carlson	Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
2002-2005	R. B. Nelson	Ball State University
2005-2008	R. Gillman	Valparaiso University
2008-2011	D. Housman	Goshen College
2011-2014	M. Karls	Ball State University
2014-2017	J. Lorch	Ball State University

Section Representatives

2017-2020	K. Leganza	University of Indianapolis
2020-2021	M. Capaldi	Valparaiso University
2022-2023	A. Russell	Butler University